2018 AIA Idaho Design Awards

Every other year, AIA Idaho celebrates the best buildings and spaces—and the people behind them—with some of the most prestigious awards in the industry. On September 21, 2018, the American Institute of Architects Idaho announced the winners of the 2018 Design Awards at a ceremony held at the Inn at 500 Capitol downtown Boise. The program recognized outstanding achievements in architecture and design of Idaho individuals and organizations. The jury selected projects that demonstrated exceptional design and superior work of architecture.

“AIA Idaho received 30 submissions featuring a wide spectrum of projects from across Idaho. Each project is uniquely innovative and inspiring, it is an honor for our chapter to recognize and celebrate the creative work of our talented local design community.”

AIA Idaho Executive Director Anna Svidgal

The architectural design awards is a juried process. The independent jury panel evaluates entries based on how successfully projects have met their individual requirements. Entries are judged individually—not in competition with each other. All projects must demonstrate design achievement, including a sense of place and purpose, of ecology and environmental sustainability and of history. The jurors comprised of Grace H. Kim, AIA, Principal, Schemata Workshop, Seattle, WA; Craig Curtis, FAIA LEED AP, Chief Architect, Katerra, Seattle, WA and Dr. Kevin Van Den Wymelenberg, AIAS, Associate Professor, University of Oregon.

This year, AIA Idaho recognized 9 projects in the architecture category: one honor award, two merit awards, and five citations. Additionally, two projects were honored with special awards: Best Use of Idaho Wood and Sustainability Award. ​


Scott Yribar, Vaughn Yribar Architecture, Honor Award + Sustainability Award

Jeff Williams, Williams Partners Architects, Citation

Jack Smith and Jessica Jellison, Architect Jack Smith FAIA, Citation

Tim Boden, Boden Mountain Architecture, Citation

Josh Hersel, CTA Architects Engineers, Citation

Mike Doty, Michael Doty Associates, Citation

Jeff Giebel, Slichter Ugrin Architecture, Inc., Award of Merit

Scott Henson, LCA Architects, Award of Merit

James McLaughlin, McLaughlin & Associates, Best Use of Idaho Wood Residence

Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /home/stackroc/public_html/theconstructivistonline/wp-content/themes/wp_dolce5-v1.4/part-related-posts.php on line 8